Tags

,

A final free morning in Tokyo followed by an afternoon flight.

Day 20 Planned:

The intended itinerary for today is:

  • Free morning in Tokyo
  • 4:10PM(Tokyo) to 8:30PM (Hong Kong): CX549 – Tokyo (Haneda) to Hong Kong
  • 9:25PM (Hong Kong) to 9:35AM (Sydney): CX161 – Hong Kong to Sydney

It looks like there’s just shy of an hour to make the connection in Hong Kong, so if I want a shower I’ll have to head to the gate first and then work out if there’s a lounge close enough. Yes, Hong Kong airport is that big (and I got burned by that a bit on the Grand Tour).

Day 20 Actual:

After breakfast I checked out, left my main bags at the hotel, and headed off to Tokyo Tower to finally say I’ve been there. I was kind of frustrated earlier in the tour with staying close enough to walk there but just not finding the time for it.

I was there right as it opened and it was kind of amusing seeing the sort of crowd management intended for large groups targeted at just… me.

The views were superb and I even caught another glimpse of Fuji-San. However I was basically done in half an hour or so, which proved useful later on.

One recurring theme over the last couple of days that I haven’t mentioned much in the blog posts is that it’s really easy to get to a Shinjuku Station.

Getting to the right Shinjuku Station (I think there are several), and then not getting lost inside the station when you find it is another matter entirely. The morning trip to Tokyo Tower went relatively smoothly, the trip back left me with a somewhat longer walk than I was expecting. However I had plenty of buffer so I went with that rather than braving the labyrinth again.

A early lunch near the hotel, and then I dropped my portable wi-fi unit into the mail using the provided reply-paid envelope. That’s a really neat system to have available, and the unit never failed me (well, except maybe in deep railway tunnels but I don’t think that counts). Pururu are well worth considering if you’re traveling in Japan, just book ahead like I did so you can pick it up at the airport on arrival.

Then back to the hotel lobby to wait for the airport pickup booked by Inside Japan for me. That went smoothly, as did the transition through Customs etc.

The flight to Hong Kong went fairly smoothly, but departure for Sydney was slightly delayed. I did manage a shower in the Cathay Business Lounge which was nice. I spent the flight to Hong Kong reading Head On by John Scalzi; highly recommended.

Photos

Not too many photos today, but here they are.