Tags

,

Today is the ferry tour to Port Baikal.Day 26 Planned:

Port Baikal tour:

  • Transfer to ferry,
  • Walk around Port Baikal
  • Return ferry to Listvyanka,
  • Picnic lunch.

Day 26 Actual:

Pretty much as the planned itinerary suggests. Plus a few other bits and pieces.We were able to sleep in a bit before a leisurely breakfast in the chalet. The guide picked us up around 11ish and drove us to the ferry over to Port Baikal.

A Potted History of Port Baikal

Port Baikal in its current incarnation requires a little bit of explanation.

The train line used to run to Irkutsk from Port Baikal but that stretch of railway was flooded when the hydroelectric dam was completed in Irkutsk. Yes, Irkutsk has a hydro dam right in the middle of the city.

The line to Port Baikal is now essentially a spur line and a bit of a weekend site. Mostly people get to Port Baikal by ferry from Listvyanka these days, and the dual rail line from the Trans Mongolian/Siberian has been cut back to a single line.

Port Baikal Railway Museum

The original railway station at Port Baikal was bombed in the Russian civil war, but a replica has been built on the site. It contains quite a neat little railway museum with photos and dioramas of the construction process (especially the tunnels).

This was fascinating to see and well worth the visit.

Walking Around

From the Railway Museum we went on a long walk along the shore and climbing up to the top of the hill overlooking Lake Baikal. The weather today was simply superb for this. Cold, but clear with glorious blue skies and views clear across the lake to the snow covered mountains on the other side.

We stopped for lunch at the top of the hill next to a lovely church that really works in the setting.

From there we headed back down to the shore, and on a bit to a pebble beach.

Getting Wet

At which point Julian, then I, briefly went for a swim.

Oh, and it was cold in there. I didn’t initially plan on going in, although Julian did, but when I got there the moment took me. Let’s face it, I’m probably never going to be here again, and this is supposed to be my grand tour in celebration of my 50th birthday.

So I did it. Admittedly it was very briefly and there are pictures (first one is me, 2nd one is Julian):

(Incidentally I think that these may be the only pictures of me without glasses taken in the last 30 years or so).

I picked up, courtesy of our guide who actually found it, a polished piece of marble near where I went in. I’m seriously thinking about having it engraved when I get home.

Heading Back

From there we headed back to the ferry, and back to the chalet with a brief stop at a souvenir shop. Then dinner at the chalet and a relaxed evening before turning in.

Photos

And here’s the photo album for today.