Tags

I never expected to be watching subtitled anime as part of official inflight entertainment. Fan subs off the lap top, yes, official subs off the seat back screen, no.

So it was a real surprise to see In This Corner of the Worldpop up. It wasn't the best conditions to be watching it – I think the headphone connection in my seat was a bit dodgy and I was interrupted several times but…

I think I want to see this film again under better circumstances. In This Corner of the World is quite a melancholy film, as the subject matter more or less demands, but there's also joy in dark times, and a sense of hope at the end. All in all this story of Suzu living through WWII in and around Hiroshima is a film that deserves a better look in better circumstances.

I hope to get the opportunity at some point.