Tags

, ,

Since I’m still learning how to handle the new camera, I’m going to try to put out a weekly photos post highlighting things that did or didn’t work. So, here’s the photos from this week.

Garema Place

I don’t know what it is about malls and odd public art in Australia as I’ve found examples more or less in every capital city I’ve visited, and Canberra is no exception.

The Big Little Man by Dean Bowen, 1999

The Big Little Man by Dean Bowen, 1999

I quite like how the textures turned out in this one, which I didn’t really see until I got the photo loaded on the laptop. I suspect that’s going to be a recurring issue given that the photos are so much larger than the display screen of the camera.

I didn’t really get any good photos of Public Poetry, or the Bush Pack, but this one of those sheep isn’t too bad:

The Ainslie Sheep. Don't Ask. Just Don't.

The Ainslie Sheep. Don’t Ask. Just Don’t.

Ainslie

Here’s a couple that I like of a local street in Ainslie, and the rather charmingly Art Deco Ainslie School

Street in Ainslie

Street in Ainslie

Ainslie Schoop

Ainslie School

Australian War Memorial – Exterior

I paid a visit to the Australian War Memorial today. The collection has been substantially revamped, and there were a lot of items on display that I hadn’t seen before. Starting with this 19th century 6″ gun from HMQS Gayundah:

HMQS Gayundah gun - Side View

HMQS Gayundah gun – Side View

HMQS Gayundah gun - rear view

HMQS Gayundah gun – rear view

The comparison between this and the gun mount from HMAS Brisbane is fairly stark, which is what you’d expect with 70 odd years between them:

HMAS Brisbane gun mount

HMAS Brisbane gun mount

There’s a bunch of other stuff outside at the AWM, but I’ll finish this section with the view down ANZAC Parade:

ANZAC Parade from the War Memorial

ANZAC Parade from the War Memorial

Australia in the Great War

There were a number of models that I hadn’t seen before, but which I got at best dubious photos of. This one of HMAS AE1 wasn’t too bad:

HMAS AE1

HMAS AE1

I think this was the best of the HMAS Australia (I) photos, and is probably why I want to look into getting a polarising filter at some point:

HMAS Australia (I)

HMAS Australia (I)

One unexpected exhibit this time was the¬†Sturmpanzerwagen A7V “Mephisto”. This was the first German tank in WWI, and the one on display is the last surviving example in the world:

Sturmpanzerwagen A7V - Rear

Sturmpanzerwagen A7V – Rear

Sturmpanzerwagen A7V - Front

Sturmpanzerwagen A7V – Front

HMAS Australia (II)

The next batch of photos is of the HMAS Australia (II) model which is in the Aircraft Hall (another rant for another day) and not particularly well lit. I experimented with bare flash, diffuser at full, diffuser at half, and some of the differences are striking

p2260086

HMAS Australia (II) – Light Diffuser (Half) (I think)

p2260085

HMAS Australia (II) – Light Diffuser (Full) (I think)

HMAS Australia (II) Flash (I think)

HMAS Australia (II) Flash (I think)

I think I’ll leave it there tonight. I might put some more up tomorrow. Note that I’m hoping to make this sort of photo walk post a weekly event, so please leave a comment if you have any spots in Canberra you’d particularly like me to tackle.