Tags

,

So, I just picked up a new camera (one of these) courtesy of my credit cards awards program, and spent a little time today playing with it. 

Meat on a Stick Festival

Yes, it’s that time of year in Canberra again when I get reminded why I live here and not in Sydney. The festival felt oddly smaller this year, it didn’t reach into the bus interchange, and the stalls on Bunda Street (which were new) were only there on the Saturday. There were stalls being taken down when I was there again today.

So here’s a few randomly snapped scenes from the festival:

Front of House

Front of House

The Pacific Islands Showcase

The Pacific Islands Showcase

Back of House

Back of House

(Since I do have a fascination with what goes into making these festivals happen; there’s a lot of work that must go into them and I think that needs acknowledging)

Light Diffuser

The TG4 has a filter ring that accessories can be attached to. One that I picked up today and am experimenting a bit with is the light diffuser for the flash (I’m looking at acquiring others, suggestions welcome in the comments). This is the light diffuser:

Light/Flash Diffuser

Light/Flash Diffuser

I’m still not sure how to use this, or the camera, so some of my experiments may well be finding their way on to the blog over the next several. For want of anything better to experiment with I picked the Patlabor AV98 Ingram figure and tested a bit.

AV-98 Ingram with Flash (no diffuser)

AV-98 Ingram with Flash (no diffuser)

AV98 Ingram, Light Diffuser, Bright Setting

AV98 Ingram, Light Diffuser, Bright Setting

AV98 Ingram, Diffuser, Half Setting

AV98 Ingram, Diffuser, Half Setting

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

AV98 Ingram, No Flash

To be honest I’m not seeing a whole lot of difference in the results, but that may well be because I didn’t set the test up correctly and/or know how best to use this accessory. I think the diffuser produced better results here than the bare flash, but the camera on auto setting without the flash probably did just as well.

If you’ve got any hints or tips around this, sound off in the comments. 🙂