Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is going to be a little difficult as the stats page that I usually use for these posts has disappeared[1].

So there isn’t a 4th quarter rankings this year, nor is there an all-time ranking.

Top Posts for 2016:

Based on the newer stats page, the top posts for 2016 were:

  1. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  2. Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash (2016): First Thoughts with Major Spoilers (February 2016)
  3. Wild Mass Guessing Chihayafuru Part 3 (2017?) (November 2016)
  4. The reality of idol culture in Japan (February 2013)
  5. Konosuba: God’s Blessing on this Wonderful World (2016): First Thoughts (February 2016)

As I discovered earlier in the year, the Say “I Love You” post seems to be the first Google result for the manga ending, but doesn’t seem to translate into general readership (which is down this year[2]).

Whether the overall drop is responsible for the three 2016 entries making the top 5 is a good question. Of the 3, the Grimgar post is probably the most substantial since there was a lot to come to grips with in the first six episodes of that series.

In a sense Grimgar has been an ongoing frustration for me this year since I was never able to get back to it to put my thoughts in order for a final review.

I am hoping that Chihayafuru part 3 will be ready for the Japanese Film Festival in 2017.

As for Konosuba, I believe the 2nd season is starting shortly but I’ll be very wary of it this time, especially after episode 9 of the first season.

Anime of the Year

I didn’t watch or review as much this year[3], but in terms of what I did see the best of the year was (in alphabetical order):

Final Words

This was a difficult year for me in a number of ways, and I found myself resorting to comfort anime such as Yama no Susume in order to cope more than usual. I’m hoping to balance things a bit better this year, post more frequently, and address some unfinished blogging business from previous years.

I have some special plans for this year, but those will be kept under wraps for a bit just yet.

As always thanks to those who read, commented, and liked this year. May you all have a safe and happy new year.

[1] It was replaced by an “improved” version but doesn’t include the quarterly stats.

[2] By about 20% overall I think.

[3] Another likely reason for the drop in readership.