Tags

, , , ,

In her reply here to my questions re the Sunshine Blogger Award, Inrosegalaxy included this intriguing music video by Two-Mix for their 1997 single White Reflection. Before I comment on it, here’s the video itself:

I’d never heard of Two Mix before, but sometimes even my weak Google-Fu is my friend.

It turns out to be a duo featuring Minami Takamina and Shiina Nagano.

Ms Takamina is a fairly well known seiyuu from the 90s being notable for (among others) voicing both Kiki and Ursula in the Studio Ghibli Kiki’s Delivery Service[1]. Checking her Wikipedia page reveals that Ms Takamina is capable of an extremely wide range, including the amazing Axe-Crazy performance she had to deliver as Dilandau in The Vision of Escaflowne.

Mr Nagano I know rather less about, but the Wikipedia page for Two Mix indicates that this has been a fairly lengthy collaboration, and I wouldn’t mind hearing more of their material at some point.

The video itself is odd. The animation/design work is fairly rough even by the standards of the day. That said, I like the story it’s telling, and it definitely has a certain charm.

The character designs are presumably affectionate caricatures of Ms Takamina and Mr Nagano, but strongly remind me of Kenichi Sonoda’s early work on Bubblegum Crisis and Gall Force. It would not surprise me at all to find that he was involved.

If you’ve taken the time to watch the video, let me know what you think in the comments.

[1] So, yes, a significant chunk of Kiki’s Delivery Service consists of Ms Takamina essentially talking to herself.