Tags

, ,

Sakura 20thAs reported by CrunchyRoll here a new Card Captor Sakura anime project is in the works. It’s part of the 20th anniversary celebrations, and after initially going “oooh” I have a few more thoughts on the matter.

Card Captor Sakura is near and dear to my heart. It is one of my comfort anime that I will probably never review in detail because I don’t want to risk spoiling the magic by looking too deeply into it. I made an exception for the 2nd movie because it was such a perfect capstone to the arcs of the series.

Therein lies the key to the success of any new anime: that it be a new anime. By which I mean don’t reboot the original, don’t tell midquels (which have all the problems of prequels), tell a sequel to the originals series and movies. Fortunately there’s already strong signs that this is what will happen – the new manga is set in Sakura’s first year in junior high.

Obviously keeping the spirit, the feel, of the original is important, and so long as it does I’ll probably be happy. This does mean tougher opponents for Sakura, since her growing powers and creativity when using the cards was a core part of the original.

It is however entirely possible that the new Card Captor Sakura will suck. If that happens (and please let it not be so), I’ll just go back to the originals and ignore the sequels. They’ll exist, but they won’t ruin what I love about the original.

I don’t ever have to watch the Star Wars prequels again, I don’t have to watch Puella Magi Madoka Magica: Rebellion again, and none of those ruin the parts of the franchises that I do like.

If worst comes to worst, that’s how I’ll treat the Card Captor Sakura sequel.

On the other hand: the new Card Captor Sakura might be good. It might be very good, and that’s what I’ll be hoping for.