Tags

Earlier this morning I saw this:

Given that Erica Mendez is a voice actor with a fairly impressive resume I suspect that she (or other VAs that she knows) has been on the receiving end of some tweets that I would regard as harassment.

I’m not a fan of dubs, but this sort of behaviour is unacceptable. It would be unacceptable even if we didn’t depend on dubs for commercial subtitles. Speaking of which, here’s a bit of a twitter rant from earlier:

Speaking of the exceptions: El HazardHaibane RenmeiRecord of Lodoss WarsThe Cat Returns are all worth listening to.

Also common in this period was being charged $20 US more for the subtitled release of about 2 episodes per tape.

It’s been a while, and I don’t remember the specific titles, but I was seeing some anime get released dub-only on VHS, and it seemed to be an increasing trend.

It’s fine to not like dubs. I mostly don’t. But don’t trash the actors (who often love anime as much as anyone), and understand how essential they are to the western anime market as whole.

i.e. Show some respect, and try some occasionally, they’re not all bad.