Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Since I’m sick at home with a summer cold[1] here’s a roundup of the anime premieres that I’ve been looking at. If I watch other new stuff I’ll come back to this and edit it. So, in no particular order:

Shōwa  Genroku Rakugo Shinju

WATCH THIS. Trust me.

Boku Dake ga Inai Machi (aka ERASED)

Strongly recommended, if not quite up to the level of Shōwa Genroku Rakugo Shinju.

Active Raid

I liked it better when it was Patlabor. Avoid.

Myriad Colors Phantom World

Nice world building, pity about the exploitative fan service and clumsy infodumps.

Pandora in the Crimson Shell: Ghost Urn.

No, no, a world of no. The ecchi excesses[2] of Masumune Shirow meets Moe-Blobs, with the minimal amount of Bleached Underpants required to get it on television. NB: Rated MA+ on AnimeLab for Australian viewers.

Luck & Logic

Borderline magical harem show lifted to intriguing by the setup, and occasionally amusing by the main character’s little sister Shiori.

Shiori is openly Genre Savvy and is constantly comparing her brother to characters in anime. Her preference is for Villager A, but she accepts Shounen Protagonist once her brother Leaps At The Call.

Norn9

This is really pretty to look at, albeit with mostly generic characters. The setup is interesting enough that I’ll probably keep watching for a bit.

Haruchika – Haruto & Chika

Haruchika starts with two strikes against it, adds a third, but still manages to be borderline watchable.

Strike 1: It’s a band anime that isn’t Sound! Euphonium

Strike 2: It’s a P.A. Works series that isn’t a sequel to Shirobako.

Strike 3: It’s a P.A. Works series that reminds me of the quality drop from Nagi no Asukara to GLASSLIP. OOPS.

Despite that the addition of the mystery elements made for a show that, whilst a bit “meh”, is at least watchable. I’ll give it another episode or two to see if it improves.

GATE: Thus the JSDF Fought There

Looks to be doubling down on some of the problematic elements from the first cour, whilst possibly setting up to add Fantastic Racism to the topics it will be tackling. Oh, and the new OP sucks like a black hole.

Ojisan and Mashmallow

An oddly sweet[3] office romance short. Well worth the couple of minutes at this stage.

Sekko Boys

What is this[4]? I don’t even…

Please Tell Me! Galko Chan

I want my 7 minutes back

Ooya-san wa Shishunki!

A short featuring a middle schooler who is the landlord/manager of an apartment building like the ones seen in Maison Ikkoku or From Up on Poppy Hill. Pass. Even in the two minutes there were signs that it was heading towards excessive, and creepy fanservice.

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime / Snow White with the Red Hair

Episode 13 hasn’t broadcast yet. Watch this space and/or wait for the squeeing to begin on twitter. But I’m not impatient for it to get started. Honest.

Edit 12/01/2015: SQUEEEE! The first episode jumps right into two major plotlines and the new OP somehow manages to emphasise Shirayuki’s independence more than the original OP did. If the rest of the season is like this, Akagami no Shirayuki-Hime is easily going to be my favourite of the season.

Girls Beyond the Wasteland

Girls Beyond the Wasteland is set in high school with male lead Buntaro dragged into being the writer of a Bishoujo game by a classmate Kuroda on the strength of a skit he wrote for the drama club. At the moment it’s so-so, but relatively light on for tropes that I try to avoid, and I think it might have potential to improve.

Divine Gate

As per Artemis’ advice (see the comments) I took a look at Divine Gate. Bwahahahahha.

This show is trying so hard to be deep, and only manages to be visibly pretentious. Then it tries to match the grimdark past of the main character with the bright and fluffy side characters. What you get is a complete mess.

I honestly can’t see this ever becoming worthwhile.

Dimension W

A late appearance on AnimeLab, Dimension W delivers a solid opening episode. Hard(ish) science fiction with some adroitly managed infodumps (background radio whilst the lead character is fixing his car), interesting concepts, and fairly well realised characters. There are shades of Cowboy Bebop in Dimension W but that’s no bad thing sometimes.

Grimgar, Ashes and Illusions

Another late addition to AnimeLab. I’m only guessing but I think Grimgar is a hybrid of sorts of Haibane Renmei and Log Horizon. Which is a combination that I never expected to see in the world. Also note that the primary group of characters are definitely low powered, so they’re going to be struggling for a while.

The first episode is quite well done, albeit with some body image tropes that I could do without. Then again this may be because the characters were physically changed when they arrived in the world of Grimgar but haven’t realised it yet.

Lupin the 3rd Part 4

Despite the part 4 this is, as far as I know, essentially a reboot. That said it feels like Lupin III should. Based on the one episode I’ve seen so far, this feels like The Castle of Cagliostro, or more to the point it feels like The Plot of the Fuma Clan.

The opening theme music has been updated, but it’s still recognisably the same music. I’m cool with that, it fits this show perfectly. I’ll definitely be watching more of this at some point.

Still to Watch (Maybe)

I haven’t seen any of these yet, but may try one or two today:

  • Divine Gate (AnimeLab) EDIT 11/01/2015 – See above
  • Girls Beyond the Wasteland (AnimeLab) EDIT 11/01/2015 – See above
  • Prince of Stride: Alternative (AnimeLab)
  • Nurse Witch KOMUGI R (CrunchyRoll)[5]
  • Phantasy Star Online 2 The Animation (CrunchyRoll)[6]
  • Lupin The 3rd Part 4 (CrunchyRoll) EDIT 12/01/2015 – See above

I’m happy to take recommendations (or warnings…) on any of these.

Dropped Without Further Comment

  • Aokana: Four Rhythm Across the Sky
  • Mahou Shoujo Nante Mouiidesukara
  • Dagashi Kashi

Comment, questions, anyone…. Bueller?

[1] Summer colds are just wrong, but at least it’s easier to keep warm whilst recovering. Also insert appropriate snarky comment about the anime seasons not matching Australian seasons in general, or Canberra seasons (both of them: Winter and Not) in specific.

[2] I’ve seen some of the original Ghost in the Shell manga, and the first two volumes of Intron Depot. I know whereof I speak.

[3] Yes, I just went there. I do that.

[4] Classical statues as idol singers. They don’t even transform but can apparently speak and sing.

[5] This one I’m just looking at and saying no to. Unless I hear are really solid recommendation in the credits I’ll give this one a miss.

[6] Apparently not a sequel although definitely based on an online RPG. Probably not at this stage.