Tags

I’m going to hold off on writing up the new GATE: Thus the JSDF Fought There episodes until I have a better feel for where the story is heading. Some of the initial signs are less than promising.

What I am truly, definitely, unhappy about is the new opening. The song isn’t too bad, and might grow on me.

However the studio had 3 months to prepare a new OP animation to support the song and this… this… travesty is the best they could come up with? Really?

It’s bad enough on its own, but to truly make this opening look utterly abysmal all you have to do is compare it to the original opening. Like so:

See what I mean? I suppose it’s possible that these will be evolving credits, and may actually evolve into something worthwhile by the end of the 2nd cour. But I have my doubts.

I do like the new key visual shown above. That’s nice in a dark and ominous sort of a way.