Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I suppose it’s that time again. So here’s the top 5 posts for the 4th quarter, year, and all time, plus some other random commentary on the year.

4th Quarter

  1. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  2. The Reality of Idol Culture in Japan (February 2013)
  3. Anime De Training! Ex (2015) is a bit of a worry. (October 2015)
  4. Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015) (December 2015)
  5. Some thoughts on Peeple from the perspective of a Business Analyst (October 2015)

The top two posts never seem to change. I will admit that getting no less than 4 search criteria pointing to the Say “I Love You” post on one day this week felt a bit like piling on.

Anime De Training! Ex only got worse. You don’t need to know any more than that (if you really want to know ask me in person sometime and I will rant at you).

I’m still refusing to post anything vaguely resembling spoilers for Star Wars: The Force Awakens, but I will note that I’ve seen it twice and didn’t regret the decision to do so.

I did rather enjoy mocking the insanity that is Peeple, and being able to do so from a professional perspective was just a bonus.

Year

  1. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  2. The Reality of Idol Culture in Japan (February 2013)
  3. Anime Reviews (Periodically updated)
  4. Bumper Sticker Feminism (September 2012)
  5. 10 Things in Board Games More Innovative Than Changing The Monopoly Tokens

Once again those top two posts never seem to change. On the one hand I’m glad that I’ve written stuff with staying power, on the other it’d be nice occasionally for new stuff to strike a chord.

The Anime Reviews page continues to be a useful reference for readers, always good to see.

This was, unfortunately, another year when I needed to link to Bumper Sticker Feminism fairly frequently. I hope things improve enough next year that I need that less.

Mocking Monopoly never gets old. No, really, it doesn’t and here’s another look at the unfortunate implications edition to prove it.

In terms of overall number of hits, 2015 is slightly down on 2014, and I think that’s at least partly due to the exhaustion that saw my posting rate way down. I hope to do better on that front next year.

All Time

  1. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  2. The Reality of Idol Culture in Japan (February 2013)
  3. Bodacious Space Pirates (2012): (hopefully not) Final Thoughts (July 2012)
  4. Bumper Sticker Feminism (September 2012)
  5. Anime Reviews (Periodically updated)

This list is pretty much as I predicted it would be this time last year, and barring posting a major hit I suspect that you’ll be seeing this list again at the end of 2016.

Best Anime of the Year

I don’t think I saw as much this year, partly because I effectively skipped the Fall season entirely. I think my best anime for the year were:

  1. Shirobako
  2. Akagami no Shirayuki-hime
  3. Hibike! Euphonium
  4. Sore ga Seiyuu
  5. Akatsuki no Yona
  6. Princess Jellyfish
  7. Dirty Pair TV (speaking of which the favourite episode title polls are still running here and here)
  8. GATE: Thus The JSDF Fought There
  9. Kamisama Kiss

Noting that not all of these were released this year, this is just the best of what I saw this year.

Final Words

And that’s it for me for the year. Thanks to everyone who read what I had to say this year, and I look forward to seeing you again next year.

I wish everyone a safe and happy new year.