Tags

, ,

Merry Christmas all in a year tinged with sorrow for many friends and family.

A beloved uncle who did much to challenge me to think as I grew up is in the grip of Alzheimer’s. I saw him earlier and it was hard: he’s not there anymore, there’s just an empty shell of the man I respected so much growing up. 

The same is coming true for the father of a family friend. The friend has returned from London to Perth so that his children can know their grandfather whilst he’s still himself. My brother will be flying across to catch up with his friend whilst he’s here but the reason for the reunion is still a little sad.

Other friends have lost a grandmother in the last day or so. I don’t know how they’re coping but I’m thinking of them, and wish them well.

So make the best of your Christmas, stay safe, and spare a thought for those dealing with losses over an otherwise festive period.