Tags

, ,

Sometimes the magic goes away.

Sometimes the magic comes back.

The magic came back today.

I hope you’re not looking for spoilers because you won’t find them here.

I was 16 when Return of the Jedi came out, and it may well have been the first film I saw entirely alone in a city that wasn’t my own. For all the flaws that emerged later[1], Return of the Jedi was pure film magic to my 16 year old self.

That excitement as the set up scrolled up the screen and the scene pans down to the action.

I felt it again for Star Wars: The Force Awakens, but dimmed by the disappointment of the prequels, until The Force Awakens got its story on and swept me away. That took maybe 5 minutes. After that…

Today I felt like I was 16 again: the magic came back. I won’t talk about the plot, or the continuity nods that were there but not overdone. For the moment it’s enough to know that this is Star Wars as it was meant to be, as the prequels were not.

It may well be that in years to come I will find flaws in The Force Awakens. Right now I don’t care.

This is a film for all the 10 year old boys, and for all the 10 year old girls, who will see the magic and see themselves as heroes.

That’s enough for me, and it should be enough for anyone: an awesome film that left me wanting to see the next one.

PS: no spoilers in the comments please. If you must then Rot13 them please.

[1] ***COUGH*** EWOKS ***COUGH***