Tags

, , , ,

Kei - Nozomi Cover Art - Episodes 19 - 22

Kei – Nozomi Cover Art – Episodes 19 – 22

I have on occasion reacted poorly to anime that feels, well, mean or nasty. I had that reaction to Locodol, to Tonari no Seki-Kun, and in retrospect[1] it’s how I see Otaku no Video.

Unfortunately Dirty Pair episode 19 An Unjustified Lover’s Grudge. Let Me Love You Without Revenge triggers the same reaction: it feels mean, and left me feeling guilty that I was finding it funny in places.

And despite this reaction, it really is a funny episode:

Kei and Yuri’s antics in trying to “fix” Learmon’s allergy to women whilst sabotaging each other’s efforts is hilarious. Toss in an enemy that’s holding a grudge from an unrelated mission[2] in the area, the loyal maid Miralda who truly loves Learmon[3] and you have an action packed episode with a lot to laugh at.

But oh so much of it is built on mocking the shut-in who fears women, including mental illness insults.

Funny as An Unjustified Lover’s Grudge is, I cannot bring myself to watch it again to produce a more detailed synopsis. I have to regard this episode as one of the relatively few failures.

The battle bikini percentage rises to 74% (albeit only for one short scene in the middle of the episode).

Next up: Nostalgic Blues Make a Killer Soundtrack.

[1] Something that I worked out when I reviewed Princess Jellyfish.

[2] Featuring the large, if regrettably deliberate, explosions that one expects from the Lovely Angels.

[3] Which is where the happy ending comes from.