Tags

, ,

A little late but here’s the top 5 posts from the last 3 months or so:

  1. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers
  2. GATE (2015): The Self-Defense Force Goes to Another World
  3. The Reality of Idol Culture In Japan
  4. Why I won’t be watching any more of Gakkou Gurashi (2015)
  5. Anime Reviews

Commentary

Say “I Love You” is apparently the gift that keeps on giving.

If the popularity of the episode 1 review of GATE was a bit of a surprise[1], the persistence of the Idol Culture post wasn’t[2].

I believe Gakkou Gurashi ended as strongly as it began, certainly the angst in my twitter feed indicated as much, and I still have no intention of going anywhere near it. A good show by all accounts, just not one I want any part of[3].

As always the Anime Reviews are intended to be a useful reference list and it’s good to see it being used that way.

[1] I really need to write up the remainder of the first cour sometime soon. Along with a couple of other shows but as I observed a little while ago Sometimes Life Happens.

[2] Regrettably.

[3] Yes, I can actually acknowledge quality when I see it but don’t like it. Just like I can acknowledge trash when I see it and like it. “I like this” is not necessarily the same as “This is good”.