Tags

This just popped up on CrunchyRoll and is a very odd beast indeed. According to this Anime News Network item it is based on a free smartphone game about raising a family of mushrooms.

Despite only recently appearing on CrunchyRoll I’m guessing it was made in 2013 or maybe 14 judging from the news article.

There is very little dialogue, it is almost entirely sight gags for short scenes, and CrunchyRoll is treating each scene (and the OP/ED) as separate episodes. All up about an hour and a half for the 13 “episodes” published to date.

There is a definite sense of humour in this series, as evidenced by how the thermometer gets labelled:

That's... practical I guess. :)

That’s… practical I guess. 🙂

There are also some oddly creepy elements such as the mushroom family eating… mushrooms.

What is it?

What is it?

Not to mention that most of the scenes will end with a look back at a particular shotand  then zoom in to reveal this critter. Why is this happening? I have no idea, and your guess is as good as mine.

Overall I think this is worth a look, and I’ll keep my eye out for any more episodes should they appear. Here’s the OP which is just as odd as the rest of it:

Oh, and the white thing is in the OP as well. Go figure. 🙂