Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Since January is another record setting month, here’s the top five posts according to the original stats page:

  1. Bumper Sticker Feminism (September 2012)
  2. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  3. Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! (2015) (January 2015)
  4. The Reality of Idol Culture in Japan (February 2013)
  5. The KanColle Experience (2015), or how to mock this show on twitter. (January 2015)

Commentary

I’m always happy to see Bumper Sticker Feminism do well, but this time it was entirely due to Grumpy Rumblings finding it linkworthy. Thanks! That page also alerted me to a fascinating piece on the Oatmeal about self-driving cars so thanks again for that.

Say “I Love You” continues to score hits from people searching for the ending. My advice stands: skip the first 22 minutes of the final episode then start watching it[1].

I stand by my assessment of Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! I’m sure there’s a place for gender flipped magical girl parody show but personally that which is seen cannot be unseen[2].

And, as is so often the case, idol culture remains the horrible misogynistic gift that just keeps on giving[3].

Finally Kantai Collection has actually proved to be watchable, although the latest episode is plagued by utterly appalling sound mixing[4]. It will never be a great show, but it’s qualifying as popcorn viewing when I’m stressed.

Side note: WordPress has recently introduced a new stats page which I detest[5], and is also giving me different numbers. According to that version the number five post for January was Yūki Yūna wa Yūsha de Aru (2014): Final Thoughts with Spoilers. The Yūki Yūna finale sparked some controversy over the handling of the disabilities[6], and it is certainly one of the most commented posts I’ve had for a while.

[1] I know the episode is only about 23 minutes long…

[2] Which is not to say that I have to see anymore of it.

[3] And one of the reasons I really should feel guiltier about being a fan of AKB0048 (even if I do like the music).

[4] Possibly the worst I can remember since streaming anime started.

[5] I suspect I’m not alone in that.

[6] There’s at least one, possibly two, stories on Archive of Our Own where the authors are furious about that aspect of the finale.