Tags

, , ,

Patema Inverted is a visually stunning movie with some interesting ideas that I rate as… above average.

Patema Inverted is fabulous to look at, avoids most undesirable anime tropes, is well scripted, has competently executed plot twists, and delivers some nice characterisations.

Patema Inverted is a film that I truly wanted to connect to, and one that I suspect truly deserves the accolades it has been receiving elsewhere. And yet…

I felt there was something missing[1]. Something that I couldn’t quite put my finger on, that prevented me from fully engaging with Patema Inverted.

Interestingly it turns out that director Yasuhiro Yoshiura’s was also responsible for Eve no Jikan, which is another anime I respected but didn’t particularly like[2].

Patema Inverted is a film that most anime fans should see, as there’s a lot to like here, but it isn’t one that I’ll be in a hurry to see again. In short I think Patema Inverted is a good film, but not necessarily one that I like.

[1] Obviously this is a review where Your Mileage May Vary, and I absolutely expect it to for many readers.

[2] I do vaguely recall enjoying Pale Cocoon from the same director, but that seems to have disappeared from CrunchyRoll.