Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here’s the final “in review” post for 2014 with the top 5 for the month, the quarter, the year, and all time, plus some bonus commentary on best/worst of the year.

December 2014

There was an unexpected surge in December that carried it to a new record number of hits. The posts that got the attention here were:

  1. Massively Spoilery Wild Mass Guessing for Yūki Yūna wa Yūsha de Aru (2014) (November 2014)
  2. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  3. Your Lie in April (2014): First Thoughts OR Why Does #KimiUso Confuse Me So Much? (December 2014)
  4. Which Copyright Mine Did Shirobako (2014) Step On? (December 2014)
  5. Akatsuki no Yona (2014): First Thoughts with some spoilers (December 2014)

The strength of the Fall 2014 anime season is right on display here. I think this is the first time I’ve ever had 4 current posts in a top 5.

The grossly misnamed Blessings of the Gods episode of YuYuYu clearly attracted some attention, as did the two strong episodes that followed. It’s a pity that the finale didn’t quite deliver what it needed to, but YuYuYu was an unexpectedly strong performer in the Fall 2014 season.

Say “I Love You” seems to be perennially popular, and I get a number of searches for spoilers and/or the ending. My thoughts haven’t changed: the only parts of this series that you shouldn’t watch are the first 22 minutes of the final episode.

Your Lie in April is another show from the Fall 2014 series that is getting a lot of attention, if only for how problematic it is. Hopefully the 2nd cour will clarify things. I still want to like this show much more than I do, and at least we’ll always have Hikaru Nara by Goose House.

Then we come to Shirobako, the strongest anime of Fall 2014and notorious for annoying the Beckett estate. That’s a pity since Shirobako is my favourite of the season, and more people should watch it.

That said Akatsuki no Yona has been challenging for the title and will definitely appeal to fans of Fushigi Yuigi, The Twelve Kingdoms, and Seirei no Moribito. I’ve seen some people dismiss it as a reverse harem but that’s not the vibe I get from it at all.

4th Quarter

  1. The Reality of Idol Culture in Japan (February 2013)
  2. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  3. Massively Spoilery Wild Mass Guessing for Yūki Yūna wa Yūsha de Aru (2014) (November 2014)
  4. The subtler misogyny involved in self-doxxing accusations by #gamergate (October 2014)
  5. Explain an anime plot… badly (September 2014)

Over the longer term however, some the older posts continue to dominate.

Oh Idol Culture: the horrible misogynistic gift that just keeps on giving. This was also the source of the only triggering search criteria I received this year, and I won’t be repeating them here.

Now we come to a vile pit of misogyny and harassment that makes idol culture look healthy: GamerGate. I hope this dies the horrible death it deserves in 2015.

I had a lot of fun this year with the ExplainAnAnimePlotBadly hashtag on twitter. Check out my entries and see if you can guess what they are. 🙂

Year

  1. The Reality of Idol Culture in Japan (February 2013)
  2. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  3. Anime Review List (periodically updated)
  4. 10 Things in Board Games More Innovative Than Changing The Monopoly Tokens (January 2013)
  5. Harem, er, Sword Art Online (2012) (December 2012)

Once you get to the top posts for the year, even the dramatic surge in December won’t get a current post into the top 5.

I refurbished the Anime Review List late in the year to improve the format. Overall I’m quite pleased to see this getting used as the handy index I intended it to be.

Mocking Monopoly never gets old. Especially the Unfortunate Implications edition.

I suspect that much of the renewed interest in Harem, er, Sword Art Online was driven by the second season screening this year. From all I’ve heard it wasn’t an improvement so don’t expect a review of that any time soon (or ever).

All Time

  1. The Reality of Idol Culture in Japan (February 2013)
  2. Bodacious Space Pirates (2012): (hopefully not) Final Thoughts (July 2012)
  3. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers (December 2012)
  4. Bumper Sticker Feminism (September 2012)
  5. A Remastered Nadia: Secret of Blue Water Really Does Exist (March 2012)

One day, ONE DAY, someone will license the Bodacious Space Pirates: Abyss of Hyperspace movie. If I can’t have a 2nd season I’m sure I’ll get to see the movie one of these days.

Bumper Sticker Feminism remains as true now as it was when I wrote it.

I suspect that this will be the last appearance of the remastered Nadia: Secret of Blue Water post in the top five. I have ordered it, and there may be an actual review of the remaster sometime in 2015.

Anime for Cancer Research

I attempted to raise money for cancer research this year by auctioning the review copies kindly provided by Hanabee. This was partially successful and I raised just shy of $1,000 including my own contributions. I need to find a better way to approach this as the interest completely died away towards the end of the year.

I’m open to suggestions on this. Keeping the review copies and/or not putting them to good use somehow is not an option (see the Site Disclaimer for more).

Best and Worst Anime of the Year

2014 was a really good year for anime. There were a huge number of decent to excellent titles this year. My top ten picks (in roughly chronological order of viewing them) would probably be:

  1. Nagi no Asukara
  2. Log Horizon
  3. Taisho Baseball Girls
  4. From the New World
  5. Hanayamata
  6. Encouragement of Climb Season 2
  7. Shirobako
  8. YuYuYu
  9. Argevollen
  10. Akatsuki no Yona

Note that there are a couple of older titles in that list, this is based on what I actually saw this year.

The shows to avoid would be:

  1. Tonari no Seki-kun (Mean)
  2. Hamatora (because it will make your eyes bleed).
  3. BTOOOM! (Beyond mean and into gratuitously nasty and violent)
  4. The Pilot’s Love Song (13 episodes of “MEH”)
  5. Girls Und Panzer OAVs (all the fanservice I didn’t want)
  6. Locodol (Mean)
  7. Glasslip (WHAT were P.A. Works thinking? Were they thinking at all?)
  8. I Can’t Understand What My Husband is Saying (I want my three minutes back)

Wrapping Up

I think that’s it for me for this year.

Hits were up nearly 50% this year and December 2014 crashed through the 2000 hits barrier for the first time, so thank you to my readers for that. I may post the WordPress report separately, but this review is a more personal view of the blogging year.

Finally I wish everyone a happy and safe new year, and I’ll see you soon with more reviews.