Tags

, ,

Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies is a fabulous title[1] for this enjoyable collection of essays, blog posts, and other articles by Chris Kluwe.

Chris who? Well I’d never heard of him until I started seeing some of his tweets[2] tackling the vile pit of misogyny and harassment otherwise known as #GamerGate.

I liked what I saw, and a workmate[3] lent me his autographed copy a few weeks ago.

Mr Kluwe is a punter in the NFL[4], a computer gamer, a father, and generally a good guy based on the values espoused in this collection.

Good however does not necessarily mean nice, and so it is here.

Several of the essays are best described as pugnacious in defence of what Mr Kluwe believes in, and are generally entertaining reads. He definitely has a touch for creative invective that I haven’t really seen since John Scalzi’s workshop on the topic.

I certainly enjoyed Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies, and happily recommend this book as at least a read once although I’m not sure I liked it enough to buy my own copy.

[1] The subtitle of On Myths, Morons, Free Speech, Football, and Assorted Absurdities is a fine case of truth in advertising.

[2] Mr Kluwe is on twitter as @ChrisWarcraft, and I’ll be following him shortly.

[3] On twitter as @trib, and also well worth following.

[4] American football and I really don’t know what phrase means. Most people who know me will know my catholic disdain for Silly Ball Games of all persuasions.