Tags

I went back and watched the first episode of Log Horizon this afternoon to check the foreshadowing of future plotlines.

In retrospect the tag to that episode had confused me into thinking that Akatsuki and Soujiro were going to appear in Shiroe’s raid plot line. I misinterpreted a series of rapid cuts, similarly lit, but with different backgrounds so well played Log Horizon, well played.

However I do think that there’s a fair bit of information in the tag to the first episode if it is interpreted correctly.

Which I’m about to do so I can point and laugh about how wrong I was later[1]. 🙂

First go take a look at the tag and opening to the first episode of season 2. That only takes about 3 minutes and you can find it on CrunchyRoll here. I’ll wait until you get back.

Are you back yet? Good.

There are four things that stand out for me here:

  1. Shiroe, Naotsugu et al tackling the giant armour in the Depths of Palm
  2. Akatsuki and Soujiro facing the murderer in Akihabara
  3. The sudden appearance of Ms Fanservice Kanami, the former leader of the Debauchery Tea Party
  4. The younger adventurers being Put On A Bus, well a wagon, in the OP.

So, expanding on my thoughts earlier today, I now think that there will be three major plot threads in season 2 of Log Horizon: Akatsuki (complete as of Akihabara Raid), Shiroe (starting next episode), and Kanami (probably starting around episode 13-14).

After that there will be a wrapup storyline to bring things together, and I’m not sure that the Minami/Plant Hwayden storyline will be a major factor at all. Or if it is, it will be when the other three storylines start coming together.

I hope I’m wrong but I’m not expecting to see much of the kids at all. I really think that Minori et al have been put on a bus for the season, which is a real shame.

It will be interesting to see just how wrong I am by the end of the season.

[1] There’s a chance I’ll be able to say “I told you so!” but let’s be realistic about that, OK?