Tags

,

Let’s get one thing ABSOLUTELY clear: the false accusations that Zoe Quinn, Anita Sarkeesian, Brianna Wu, and now Felicia Day* doxxed themselves are GROSSLY misogynistic.

These false accusations start from assumptions that women are liars, that they can’t be trusted, and/or that they’re doing this for attention.

I reject this utterly, and fortunately these accusations have been thoroughly debunked time and time again since the toxic pit of #gamergate started.

There is another aspect that I haven’t seen discussed yet** that is subtler but no less misogynistic.

An accusation of self doxxing carries with it the assumption on the part of the accuser that the woman in question is too stupid to realise the risks.

This is a fundamental aspect of misogyny and sexism, the idea that women are less than men, and the assumption of stupidity is how it manifests here.

I reject it, I reject it utterly.

It may be subtler, it may be less obvious, but it is as vilely misogynist as the rest of #gamergate and I condemn it for what it is***.

*No links as this is a lunchtime phone post. I may come back this evening to add some. Or I may not.

**That isn’t to say that it hasn’t been addressed, only that I haven’t seen it.

***Final Note: Read the Site Disclaimer before commenting please and know that I’m really not joking about it.