Tags

I saw this link on twitter earlier (protected account, I’ll attribute if requested) about the ethics (or lack thereof) of the re-ensouling spell in Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Specifically on the ethics of applying the spell mass production style to all vampires. There’s a certain attraction to it, especially as the spell can be cast remotely which avoids the nasty issue of having to go toe-to-toe with hungry vampires.

The question I have is: where does the soul come from? I suspect that calling a soul back from heaven (which definitely exists in the Buffy-verse) would at least negate any of the ethical advantages discussed in the article, if not push them into the negatives.

I’ll also freely admit that this is a case where, perhaps, Bellisario’s Maxim should be considered. i.e. Don’t examine this too closely.