Tags

The first half From the New World (aka Shin Sekai Yori) is a compelling tale of children discovering the dystopia behind the façade of their lives.

That’s about as much of the plot as I want to give away.

I’m not sure that I’ll ever want to watch this again, but at this stage I think I need to finish it to see how it turns out.

This is a difficult show to review without spoiling it, which is why there aren’t any links to the Wikipedia or TV Tropes pages for the series.

My First Thoughts post covered the first six episodes, and if anything the show has gotten progressively darker since.

About the most I’m prepared to say is that this is a serious anime, one that tackles psychic powers seriously, and that has a lot of depth to it.

It does have some triggering moments buried in it, and some of the cultural aspects of the set up are deeply disturbing.

In other words: be prepared to drop From the New World like a hot potato if it becomes too confronting, and I see places where it would be for many.

From the New World  is rated MA 15+ in Australia, and I think that this is a fair rating.

At the moment this is a cautious recommendation to watch once, and I’m now planning to finish it on CrunchyRoll.

Once again I’ll finish up with the appropriately downbeat ED: