Tags

,

131104(2) - アカツキ〔曉,Akatsuki〕

131104(2) – アカツキ〔曉,Akatsuki〕 (Photo credit: ccsx)

I really quite like the Log Horizon ED since it matches the footage of Akatsuki perfectly.

Then I found Yun*Chi’s music video for Your Song.

Blink. Blink.

WHAT. WAS. THAT?!

I suppose I should back up a bit and show you the Log Horizon ED again:

This is a really cute song with the sort of childlike voice that is often popular in J-pop. And, as I said above, it fits the footage of Akatsuki perfectly.

Now, here’s Yun*Chi’s music video:

I’m finding that voice matched to that footage to be more than a little bit disconcerting, bordering on outright disturbing.

I don’t have a problem with the content per se, Yun*Chi certainly seemed to be having a lot of fun making it (which is all that matters), and it’s no worse than any number of music videos I’ve seen over the last 30 years or so.

It’s the combination of the sexualised imagery with the childlike voice that is making me uncomfortable.

This is my moment of cognitive dissonance for the week.

It isn’t just me, one of the friends I’m watching Log Horizon was also taken aback by this. She also pointed out that this may be Yun*Chi’s natural register.

I’d be interested to see if this is a general reaction among my readers.

Enhanced by Zemanta