Tags

Diamond Daydreams [1] is adapted from a series of Visual Novels in a way that is as surprising as it is touching. I picked this up on a whim when I was ordering AKB0048, and it more than made up for the disappointment of the AKB0048 blu-rays.

I’m going to do my best to avoid spoiling this series; it came at me cold and I think that’s the best way to experience it.

Set in Hokkaido Diamond Daydreams is structured as six two-episode [2] stories plus an epilogue episode. Incidentally the epilogue is the only episode where any of the main characters actually meet each other [3]. Otherwise these are independent stories that could be watched in any order.

L-R: Akari (Story 6), Kyoko (3), Atsuko (1), Karin (2), Shoko (5), Suomi (4). Source TV Tropes

L-R: Akari (Story 6), Kyoko (3), Atsuko (1), Karin (2), Shoko (5), Suomi (4). Source TV Tropes

The only other real link is a legend that seeing the Diamond Dust phenomenon will grant a wish, usually a romantic wish.

As with any anthology the stories vary in quality, but the short length of each means that they never outstay their welcome. If anything, I sometimes found myself wishing for another episode in a few cases.

I mentioned the surprising adaptation above. The protagonist of the Visual Novels was a victim of Cipher Scything, and this initially led me to believe that the series was adapted from a manga anthology.

As I said it is also quite touching at times, with the final story in particular being something of a tear jerker.

Occasionally tackling some tough topics (albeit briefly), Diamond Daydreams is definitely worth chasing down if you can get a copy.



[1] AKA Diamond Dustdrops aka Kita e (To the north). Pinning down the name for this series is complicated so I’m going with what’s on the ADV box set.


[2] As with the name it’s a little more complicated than that. Technically one of the stories is a single episode (7), but there’s a “Special Episode” (not numbered) right after episode 7 on disc 2 that fixes that.


[3] Even then you don’t end up with the single group of friends shown in the Bait-and-Switch credits, which is a pity. I also can’t find the OP anywhere, which is another pity since it is quite charming to watch.

Enhanced by Zemanta