Tags

Gingitsune: Messenger Fox of the Gods ended the way it began as light hearted fluff and there’s nothing wrong with that.

As a result I don’t really have a lot to add to my first thoughts: fun to watch, and definitely worth watching at least once.

The Second Half

A pair of Monkey heralds were introduced who exemplified the difference between adorably annoying [1] and plain annoying. Fortunately Fuu and Fuko [2] only appear in one episode.

The remaining episodes are basically the gentle character stories expected from a slice-of-life anime with nothing really important happening.

The last three episodes are partially focused on Makoto’s future. More precisely the focus is on Makoto not having a plan yet whilst most of her friends do.

This is as close as Gingitsune comes to a coherent story arc, and that’s fine with me.

Much as I expected there’s some character development along the way: Satoru lightens up a bit, there’s some hints for future romances, and Makoto identifies what really matters to her [3].

The Ongoing Manga

My only real complaint with Gingitsune is the sheer number of plotlines left dangling at the end of the final episode. I’m fairly sure that a number of these are either dealt with in the manga [4], or are still ongoing in the manga.

My concern is that this means that the anime doesn’t really stand alone, which is something I’ve complained about before.

The Verdict

Gingitsune is a fun series to watch, and definitely worth watching at least once. I may not be in a hurry to revisit it, but I wouldn’t mind doing so either. I’d also be happy to see a second season.



[1] Haru-chan remains adorable no matter what she does.


[2] That the Monkey heralds have wind powers with those names should not come as a surprise to anyone.


[3] Which, naturally, is [SPOILER DELETED]. Oh, you were expecting me to tell you a key point of the final episode? Really?


[4] The manga started in 2009 and is still running according to Wikipedia.