Tags

,

I saw the live action Gatchaman tonight and was pleasantly surprised by how much fun it was.

I’ll be honest: I went into this film with extremely low expectations:

On the other hand I did also say this:

So here’s where I admit I was wrong. Very wrong.

The Gatchaman film is actually a lot of fun to watch. Don’t take it too seriously (it doesn’t, so why should you?), be prepared to laugh at the appropriate moments (many), and enjoy the action sequences (cheesy but fun).

The plot is very predictable in places, but it always had the right spirit so I didn’t really care.

There won’t be many opportunities to see this in Australia – it was one night only in Canberra – but I’m glad I saw this on the big screen.

My verdict is that the live action Gatchaman is definitely worth seeing at least once.