Tags

, ,

As is my wont here are the top 5 posts for the 3rd quarter of 2013:

  1. Bodacious Space Pirates (2012): (hopefully not) Final Thoughts
  2. The Reality of Idol Culture in Japan
  3. A standard I’m not walking past, and the failure mode of clever
  4. Bumper Sticker Feminism
  5. Say “I Love You” (2012): Final Thoughts with Spoilers

The Bodacious Space Pirates post is the first post to accumulate 1000 hits, and did so this quarter. The hope-springs-eternal searches for a second season just keep coming. It is worth noting that more information about the movie is starting to emerge, and I’m beginning to be cautiously optimistic that it will be a sequel.

Similarly the searches for idol culture have kept coming, which makes me wonder if the ugly reality is starting to penetrate the glitz and glamour.

The recent post calling out inappropriate commentary on a list of anime blogs got a lot of attention in a hurry. It is also the only post from this quarter that made the list (although A Bumper Sticker Feminist’s Take on Abortion Laws came close). I stand by everything I said in that post and I remain amused by the sudden rash of 1 star ratings appearing on recent posts. I wonder who could possibly be doing that. 🙂

The return of Bumper Sticker Feminism to the top 5 is welcome, but again none of my doing. It happened for the same reason as last time, just on a smaller scale (i.e. this comment linked back to the post that caused the spike last time).

Say “I Love You” continued to be popular this quarter, and this inspired me to rewatch it. I stand by my original review: strong overall, weak midsection and a satisfying ending to an abysmal final episode.