Tags

, ,

Madman Entertainment

Madman Entertainment (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Opportunities to see anime on the big screen in Australia are generally… limited at best [1]. So I’m usually pretty happy to see the Reel Anime seasons put on by Madman Entertainment [2].

The season this year looks to be a mixed bunch to me, but your mileage may vary.

This year the list of films (and my first thoughts) is:

  • Evangelion 3.0: You Can (Not) Redo. You could not pay me to see this.
  • 009 RE:Cyborg. This looks like an interesting reboot to a franchise I know nothing about. Probably worth a look.
  • A Letter to Momo. This comes highly recommended and I get a sense that this is almost a My Neighbour Totoro for the 21st century. In other words this not just a “Yes” but a “Hell Yes!”
  • Ghost in the Shell: Arise. I suspect that this will be good for those that like the franchise, which isn’t really me.
  • The Garden of Words. Makoto Shinkai is always oh so pretty to look at, and he’d be an amazing film maker if the story matched the shiny visuals. I’ll probably have a look at this, but won’t expect too much.

So, that’s what’s coming. Sound off in the comments with your thoughts as to which films you want to see (or avoid).

NB: If you have seen any of these already, please keep your comments spoiler free.



[1] That’s probably a charitable description of the opportunities, such as they are and such as there are of them.


[2] Given that previous seasons have included Summer Wars, and From Up On Poppy Hill (among others) there’s usually a reason to be glad.