Tags

, ,

War Maid’s Choice is a solid addition to David Weber’s War God series, with some really interesting things happening. As is my wont with reviews of recent books, I’m not going to tell you what they are. 🙂

However one thing War Maid’s Choice doesn’t do is answer the burning question that has been hanging over the series since Chesmirsa popped up in Oath of Swords: so, just who is Brandark’s god anyway [1]?

It also raises questions as to exactly why the lead character [2]  is so important [3] to the Gods of Light (among others) [4].

Despite being over 500 pages, War Maid’s Choice is fairly tightly edited, the infodumps are also kept under control, and is a smooth, fast, read.

In both the Honorverse and the War God series, the stage has been expanded from the lead character as isolated hero to one where the lead characters interact on a larger political scale. The transition in Wind Rider’s Oath and War Maid’s Choice is surprisingly smooth, and a big improvement on (for example) War of Honor.

And yet I found myself longing for the simpler storytelling of Oath of Swords and The War God’s Own. The first two instalments told single threaded stories, with a cleaner, tighter focus. I think that is what drew many readers in to the series initially.

Whilst I enjoyed the richer multithreaded stories like Wind Rider’s Oath and War Maid’s Choice, there was a lingering sense that these aren’t the type of stories I really want from this series.

That said, I did enjoy War Maid’s Choice and it made a flight to Perth disappear surprisingly quickly. I’m certainly happy to recommend it to fans of the series.



[1] Raise your hand in the comments if you review the descriptions of the Gods of Light in each book in an attempt to work Brandark’s god out for yourself. I’m currently leaning towards Norfram simply because so little is said about him.


[2] Which isn’t Bahzell as it happens. Like Wind Rider’s Oath, War Maid’s Choice is a fairly spoilery title.


[3] Although there are some fascinating hints in War God’s Own now that I think about it…


[4] Arguably it is now open to question as to which God of Light has the strongest claim to the lead character. Somewhat to my surprise I’m leaning towards Isvaria at the moment.