Tags

Battlestar Galactica (TV miniseries)

Battlestar Galactica (TV miniseries) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I saw the 2003 Battlestar Galactica miniseries for the first time last night [1] and found it to be a good show, but not a show that I enjoyed.

I really don’t have any criticisms of how the original 1970s Battlestar Galactica was reimagined in this version; it is very cleverly done and well scripted. Visually it has held up well despite now being 10 years old.

The thing is that grimdark isn’t really a style of storytelling that appeals to me. Given a choice between Darker and Edgier or Lighter and Softer, I’ll tend towards the latter most of the time.

This is not to say that this version of Battlestar Galactica is bad.

Artistically I would rate this as a vast improvement on the cheesy original [2], and I think this version deserves a fair degree of respect.

There were certainly moments, particularly towards the end with Commander Adama and President Roslin, that resonated with me but these moments were relatively few and far between.

Overall I think I recommend the Battlestar Galactica miniseries as a “watch once, and keep going if you enjoy it”.

I didn’t really enjoy it all that much, so I’ll stop here (but don’t let that stop you).



[1] I played the board game with some friends last week. My failure to have seen this version inspired a desire to complete my education.


[2] I only barely remember the cheesy original, and I was never all that attached to it in the first place.