Tags

,

Record of the Jade Blood DVD Cover (via http://www.hanabee.com.au/)

Record of the Jade Blood DVD Cover (via http://www.hanabee.com.au/)

I don’t know what it is about Hakuoki: Record of the Jade Blood that leaves me cold. As with Demon of the Fleeting Blossom I wanted to like this but in the end… meh.

After three episodes I found myself uttering the Eight Deadly Words: I don’t care what happens to these people.

It is still a very pretty show to look at, there is still that dose of reality amidst the heroic fights, there were even attempts to show characters adapting (badly) to the introduction of gunpowder warfare in Japan, and the fantasy elements were beginning to go in some odd directions.

And yet I couldn’t bring myself to care.

I will not be finishing this series, or reviewing the next instalment A Memory of Snow Flowers.

There is too much in my To Review pile to justify wasting the time on something that just isn’t keeping my interest.

From what I saw though, if you enjoyed Demon of the Fleeting Blossom you are likely to enjoy Record of the Jade Blood.