Tags

,

Image sourced from TV Tropes

Image sourced from TV Tropes

This is still not the sequel to Bodacious Space Pirates you were looking for, let alone the third season either [1]. Once again this is my review of the local Blu-Ray release by Hanabee. Sorry.

I don’t really have a lot to add to my review of Part 1.

Suffice it to say that I bought my own copy before the review copy even got here [2].

Anyone surprised by that really hasn’t been paying attention. 🙂

I do want to sound one slightly unhappy note about the extras, or the lack thereof.

When I did Twenty Days of Haibane Renmei there were enough interesting extras to fill a long post. I’m still working on Thirty Days of Planetes and there were too many extras for a single post, which is why I’ve been scattering them through the posts as omakes.

Bodacious Space Pirates has the textless opening and endings.

And that’s it.

No image songs, no commentary tracks, so sketches or design work, etc.

This is a pity, particularly for a series that is rich enough that I wanted to spend some time reviewing the extras.

However it is still the case that the story is the main selling point, and Bodacious Space Pirates still brings enough fun to the second half of the story for this Blu-Ray to be highly recommended.



[1] I have actually had “Bodacious Space Pirates Season 3” show up more than once as a search criteria for hits on the blog. I think that is my new gold standard for Hope springs Eternal.


[2] So, yes, that one will still be in the shrink wrap at the SwanCon auction.