Tags

, , , ,

Just before 2013 begins I thought I’d list, and snark, about the most popular posts on Pirates of the Burley Griffin in 2012. This is going to be limited to posts with at least 200 hits in 2012 [1].

The List

5. Bodacious Space Pirates (2012): (hopefully not) Final Thoughts (June 2012)

Image sourced from TV Tropes

Image sourced from TV Tropes

Bodacious Space Pirates was a surprise hit this year for many anime fans.  This is a show that needs a 2nd season, probably won’t get one, and there’s a number of discontented fans hitting the wrap up post as they search for news about it.

4. Nadia: Secret of Blue Water – remastered and rebroadcast? (February 2012)

Back when I saw that this might be real, I tossed off some snark about GAINAX’s motives for doing this. Either I should do this more often, or there are a lot of people hoping to get their hands on a subtitled copy of the remaster [2].

3. Madman’s Top 20 Anime Titles 2012 (May 2012)

Since this post was a bored Friday evening snarking about the taste of Australian anime fans [3], the only explanation I have for its popularity is the link bait of “Top 20 Anime” in the title.

2.  A Remastered Nadia: Secret of Blue Water Really Does Exist (March 2012)

32102_largeThis post at least had a little research going for it, but I still find the popularity of the two Nadia: Secret of Blue Water posts hard to believe. Releasing a subtitled version in the US could be a big hit for someone [4].

1. Bumper Sticker Feminism (September 2012)

This post represented the culmination of years of growing frustration at the treatment of women in the world. In some ways it may be the most socially significant piece of writing I’ve ever done.

I would like to be able to say that Bumper Sticker Feminism earned the number one slot in this list on its own merits. However I can’t say that, it is all down to the awesome power of @scalzi and Whatever.

That said, this is the post that I wanted to be in the number one slot so I’m calling it a win anyway.

Honourable Mentions

Twenty Days of Haibane Renmei (January 2012)

Guess what happens when Kana lets go...

Guess what happens when Kana lets go…

Collectively the Twenty Days of Haibane Renmei series of posts did quite well.  If I had gone with a 100 hit threshold and a top 10 list, then the following posts would have made it:

Three more posts in the series were also close to 100 hits.

And the 2012 Chronos Awards Winners are

This post wasn’t even close to being a top performer, and I would have liked to see the winners list get a little more love from the fan community.

I won’t be coordinating the Chronos Awards this year: an actual, honest-to-god Victorian fan has volunteered to tackle it this year.  I wish her the best of luck, and any assistance I can offer.

Dishonourable Mentions

I suspect that the relative popularity of the Dominion Tank Police (December 2011) review and The Look of Lodoss (February 2011, and migrated from the LiveJournal) was driven by image searches for the Puma Twins and Pirotess, and for the six obvious reasons…

Summary

Overall a good first year on WordPress I think, albeit one in which I didn’t write as much as I wanted to.

I’m currently looking at doing 30 Days of Planetes, and I’m also considering doing a weekly review of a longer series, possibly Fushigi Yuigi, Patlabor, or Twelve Kingdoms. If you have a particular preference for one of these, or another suggestion, please leave a comment below.

I hope all of my readers had a safe, and happy, holiday season and wish you all well for 2013.



[1] This excludes the home page views as those don’t really count.

[2] If I’m being honest I’m probably one of those people. I can always skip the Island episodes after all.

[3] To be precise I was snarking about the lack of taste of Australian anime fans.

[4] My admittedly weak Google-fu isn’t finding any hint of such a release.