Tags

, ,

After six episodes I’m still not entirely sure what to think of Shin Sekai Yori (aka From the New World).  It is compelling viewing, but not necessarily enjoyable viewing.

I will say that there is a lot of depth to this show, it is tackling serious issues with very little to distract the viewer from the core material.  The opening credits are minimal, basically overlays on the early scenes with no song.  There is an ending song, but even that has an unusually downbeat feel to it.

There have been some surprising, and disturbing, character developments in the last few episodes that may well lead to some post traumatic stress later on, not to mention some major regrets on the part of the main character.

I don’t want to discuss the subject matter as I suspect that Shin Sekai Yori is best left unspoilt.  I will note that the usage of Dvorak’s Ninth is relatively minor, more of a shout out than a major plot element.

Overall I’m probably looking at an anime that lives in the same space as Life on Mars: a good show, but not one that I’m sure that I’ll be able to watch more than once.

For the moment though it is a definite recommendation as a watch once with caution.