Tags

, ,

One of the nice touches about the new anime Shin Sekai Yori (aka From the New World)is the integration into the soundtrack of Dvořák Symphony No. 9 in E Minor From the New World.

I really don’t think that this is a coincidence, but how relevant it will be to the plot remains to be seen [1].  I do wonder if it will be as important as Amazing Grace was to So Ra No Wo To.

The Dvořák Symphony No. 9 is one of my favourite pieces of music, and has been since the 4th movement was used as the AnimeCon 1991 opening [2].

I recognised it as soon as I heard it, but couldn’t pin down the exact movement that was used in Shin Sekai Yori. It is one of the quieter movements in the Dvořák, so I’m only mildly surprised that none of the other Shin Sekai Yori reviews that I’ve seen thus far have mentioned it.

If anyone does want to take a stab at pinning it down, here’s a reference copy on YouTube to compare to the episode on CrunchyRoll. Enjoy.



[1] It is also too early for me to be commenting on the anime itself.  I will want to see at least four episodes first, so this will probably show up in about three weeks or so.


[2] Which I wrote about in the Thirty Days of Anime posts, and which still doesn’t appear to be is finally on youtube. 🙂