Tags

,

From Up on Poppy Hill

From Up on Poppy Hill (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

From Up on Poppy Hill is a simple film with a deep heart.  Whilst it is predictable to some extent, I didn’t really care.

Sometimes clichés work; sometimes a simple, innocent, teen romance will move me.

This film moved me, there may have been a tear of joy at the end.

From Up on Poppy Hill is beautiful to watch. The story and characters are also a vast improvement on director Goro Miyazaki’s previous effort Earthsea.

Overall it scores an “Awwww! Sniff!” from me.

This is the second of the Reel Anime 2012 films that I’ve been able to get to as I’ve been sick since seeing Wolf Children.  I’m still hoping to see Children Who Chase Lost Voices but the remaining session times may not be ideal.

I do recommend From Up on Poppy Hill, but I rank Wolf Children higher.  If you have to make a choice see Wolf Children then From Up on Poppy Hill.