Tags

, ,

Image via Wikipedia

Madman are running a Reel Anime season at cinemas around Australia.  The four films this year are Wolf Children, From up on Poppy Hill, Children Who Chase Lost Voices, and Berserk – The Egg of the King [1].

My reviews of these films will be limited to impressions and feelings, I will try to make them as spoiler free as I can manage.

For Wolf Children, written and directed by Mamoru Hosoda [2], my reaction is quite simply WOW!

There is a real heart to this film, with a nicely balanced mix of comedy and drama. It doesn’t hurt that, especially when babies, the eponymous Wolf Children are just adorable.

There are some elements that are maybe a touch predictable, and I do wish one plot element regarding the children had been swapped, but other than that this film was all I could have asked for.

Go see this film, you won’t be disappointed.



[1] I probably won’t be seeing Berserk – The Egg of the King as it isn’t a franchise I’m familiar with.


[2] Who also helmed Summer Wars and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time.