Tags

Le Portrait de Petit Cossette

Le Portrait de Petit Cossette (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Le Portrait de Petite Cossette is not an anime that I enjoyed very much.  This OAV is too close to horror for my tastes, and I find the obsession by the main character with the gothic lolita Cossette difficult to comprehend [1].

The supporting female characters could have been interesting, and sympathetic.  However their appearances are too few, and too scattered, for me to connect to them. Equally the extent of their concern for the male lead Eiri Kurahashi rang hollow when I was having trouble caring about the fate of this character.

I am not in favour of the sins of the father being visited upon the son, or in this case the reincarnated soul of a criminal.  The main character does, albeit for possibly less than noble motives, eventually accept and atone for those sins.

The way in which he does so should appeal to me; it is an almost classic Arthurian tale of ending the evil custom by fulfilling it, and then overcoming it.

However by the time that happens I simply didn’t care enough about the characters to enjoy the outcome.

Visually Le Portrait de Petite Cossette is impressive, although some of the CGI is a bit jarring. 

Possibly the strongest part of the series is the Yuki Kajiura soundtrack, although coming from the lady responsible for the Noir soundtrack this is hardly a surprise.

At three episodes Le Portrait de Petite Cossette is at least short enough for me to finish it, but frankly I’m not impressed.  I suspect that for those with an interest in horror and/or the gothic lolita there is more to appreciate here, but other than that I can’t really recommend this show.



[1] Not to mention outright disturbing on occasion.