Tags

This Anime News Network post outlines the story for the AKB48 inspired anime.

Given the history of idol singers in anime this really isn’t all that surprising.

Examples that I’ve seen include Kimagure Orange Road (sort of), Perfect Blue, and Key the Metal Idol. One that I haven’t seen (and have no intention of seeing) is Fancy Lala.

In general I find the obsession with idol singers to be one of the more bizarre aspects of Japanese culture, and it is not one that translates well to a western audience.

I expect that this will enjoy success in Japan as the promotional opportunities alone will almost guarantee it.  However successful does not equal good.

The question for me is not whether this will be bad, but whether the trainwreck will be sufficiently spectacular to be amusing in its own right?