Tags

,

For this re watch I’ve chosen to review both the original Japanese dialogue and the English language dub. The fact that I’m doing so should come as a surprise to some of my readers.

As is the fact that the dub is actually quite good.

The main cast is solid, although Lisa Ortiz as Deedlit is clearly the standout. The narrator isn’t too bad, although he’s trying too hard to sound like Vincent Price. Some of the minor roles grate a bit but they’re temporary.

In the four episodes I’ve seen so far there hasn’t been too much in the way of excess dialogue.

There are really only two pieces of the dub that I object to: the episode previews and the songs.

At least some of the time the preview description has been replaced with a recap of the legend which is a) boring and b) doesn’t have Parn’s catchphrase (“I will defend the peace of Lodoss with my life!”).

As for dubbing the opening and ending songs, look this can work. I almost prefer the English version of the second Magic Knights Rayearth opening.

In this case however: Aieeeeee!!

The original Lodoss opening is one of my favourites and the DVD release I have cut it from most of the episodes. When watching the Japanese dialogue, this is a crying shame.

When watching the English dialogue, this is a blessing in disguise.

Ditto for the ending song.

Day 1 – Prologue to the Legend
Day 2 – Blazing Departure
Day 3 – The Gender of Lodoss War
Day 4 – The Black Knight
Day 5 – The Grey Witch
Day 6 – Dub vs Sub?
Day 7 – The Desert King
Day 8 – The Sword of the Dark Emperor
Day 9 –
Day 10 – The War of Heroes
Day 11 – Requiem for Warriors
Day 12 –
Day 13 – The Scepter of Domination
Day 14 – The Demon Dragon of Fire Dragon Mountain
Day 15 –
Day 16 – The Wizard’s Ambition
Day 17 – Final Battle! Marmo, the Dark Island
Day 18 –
Day 19 – Lodoss, The Burning Continent
Day 20 –